t20 champions leagueThe 2011 Champions League T20 tournament is going to start from September 23, 2011 in India and the Governing Council has announced the format and the dates for the qualification matches for the teams which still have a chance to play the leagues. The format is going to be the same as it was in the 2010 tournament, and the games would be held in Bengaluru, Chennai and Kolkata.
Prior to the start of the Champions League, from 19th to 21st September, there would be a qualifier event held between the 6 teams in Hyderabad, out of which 3 would be getting into the main list. Again, there is no Pakistani club included in the entire list of qualified and the non-qualified teams.

The 6 teams to play the qualifiers -

  • Kolkata Knight Riders (4th Position in IPL)
  • Trinidad and Tobago (Chamipons in West Indies)
  • Auckland Aces (Champions in New Zealand)
  • Sri Lanka (Team tbc)
  • England 1 (Team tbc)
  • England 2 (Team tbc)


The fixtures and the exact formats are not yet announced.

The 7 teams which are already qualified -

  • South Australian Redbacks (Australia)
  • NSW Blues (Australia)
  • Warriors (South Africa)
  • Cape Cobras (South Africa)
  • Chennai Super Kings (India)
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore (India)
  • Mumbai Indians (India)

The total 10 teams would be later divided into 2 groups with 5 teams in each, and the fixtures would be decided then. The top 2 teams from each group would enter the Semi-finals.
Bangalore would host the inaugural match, and Chennai would host the final match on 9th October.

Here is a poll, Which team do you think would win the 2011 Champions League?

*** CONTEST ***
Comment predicting who would win the 2011 Champions League T20, and you would win exciting prizes like fan t-shirts, caps etc.