chennai vs bangaloreThe Records made and broken in IPL History – Records and History of IPL

The semifinal match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Mumbai Indians showed what Chris Gayle could do, if he doesn’t depart early. His aggressive knock helped Bangalore post a huge total of 185 in the Semi final, and that was large enough to be defended. Bangalore won by 43 runs in the end. And after a long series with 73 games played, it’s the two teams who have played consistently throughout the tournament, have finally entered the finals – Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore. In a poll on who would win the IPL 4, it is Chennai as the top favorites against Bangalore getting too less votes comparatively.

The IPL Final Match – Chennai Super Kings vs. Royal Challengers Bangalore
Date and Time – Saturday, May 28, 2000 hours
Venue – MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

Here are the teams and players, of which the final 11 would be declared just before the match start.

Chennai Super Kings -
Srikkanth Anirudha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Subramaniam Badrinath, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Doug Bollinger, Dwayne Bravo, MS Dhoni, Michael Hussey, Shadab Jakati, Joginder Sharma, Suraj Randiv, Justin Kemp, Nuwan Kulasekara, Albie Morkel, Muttiah Muralitharan, Suresh Raina, Wriddhiman Saha, Tim Southee, Scott Styris, Murali Vijay

Chennai has gone with the same playing 11 in the last 5 games and won all of them, so if they would enter the ground with same 11 again, it would be a record by them for playing with the same team in 6 continuous games.

Royal Challengers Bangalore -
Mayank Agarwal, Sreenath Aravind, Arun Karthik, AB de Villiers, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chris Gayle, Mohammad Kaif, Abrar Kazi, Zaheer Khan, Virat Kohli, Charl Langeveldt, Abhimanyu Mithun, Ryan Ninan, Asad Pathan, Luke Pomersbach, Cheteshwar Pujara, Jamaluddin Syed Mohammad, Saurabh Tiwary, Johan van der Wath, Daniel Vettori

Royal Challengers Bangalore has to show a team work here, and not depend on Chris Gayle for another victory. In the matches were Gayle didn’t show the magic, Bangalore lost it.

Both the teams were in the top of the table in the league matches too and the trend continued in the qualifier and eliminator matches too. Bangalore lost the qualifier against Chennai and had to play against the winner of Eliminator game and they won it there to reach the finals.

History of IPL Finals:

  • IPL 2008 – Rajasthan won the final game against Chennai Super Kings. It was a tight game where Chennai hit 163 off 20 overs, and Rajasthan won it in the last ball, with 3 wickets in hand.
  • IPL 2009 – This season again was dominated by South India where Deccan chargers won the final against Royal Challengers Bangalore. It was a low scoring game, with Deccan posting 143 runs off 20 overs, but defended it well to restrict Bangalore to 137.
  • IPL 2010 – Chennai Super Kings won the 2010 title against Mumbai Indians with a good margin of 22 runs. Dhoni has been a clever captain always, and will be playing it this time too to defend the IPL Champions title.